Al Jazeera: US says travellers from 6 countries will be allowed back into UK

6:30pm GMT – British Prime Minister Theresa May has announced that the United Kingdom will be able to return citizens of six countries to the UK after it is barred from leaving the European Union following a controversial travel ban.

May announced on Friday that the UK would be able “to return citizens from six countries that have been suspended from EU membership, including Iran, Syria, Libya, Sudan, Somalia and Yemen.”

The UK was also allowed to return two Iraqi nationals and one Kuwaiti.

Theresa May, Britain’s prime minister, said the country would be “open for business” after Brexit The United Kingdom and France have both imposed travel bans on some of the six countries following a court decision that the restrictions were illegal and were hurting the UK economy.

The US is blocking British citizens from entering the United States, and the UK’s top court said on Friday it would uphold the decision.

In the meantime, the EU will continue to hold back EU citizens and the United Nations is expected to continue to put pressure on May to return to the bloc.

The UK has been barred from taking part in the negotiations for Brexit, which are due to begin next week.UK Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson, in an interview with Sky News on Friday, said that Britain had to be prepared for the disruption to the economy that would result from a partial exit from the EU.

The European Union’s chief Brexit negotiator Michel Barnier said on Thursday that Britain would not be able leave the bloc unless it made major concessions in trade, security and other areas.

He said the UK had been warned to stay within the 28-nation bloc but insisted that its citizens were not at risk.